March 27th

By: Jason Baize

OPENING PRAYER

As you begin, take a moment to become aware of God’s presence in your midst. Slowly breathe in and out.

READING

First Reading : Luke 11:14-23

14 He was driving out demon [that was] mute, and when the demon had gone out, the mute person spoke and the crowds were amazed. 15 Some of them said, “By the power of Beelzebul, the prince of demons, he drives out demons.” 16 Others, to test him, asked him for a sign from heaven. 17 But he knew their thoughts and said to them, “Every kingdom divided against itself will be laid waste and house will fall against house. 18 And if Satan is divided against himself, how will his kingdom stand? For you say that it is by Beelzebul that I drive out demons. 19 If I then, drive out demons by Beelzebul, by whom do your own people drive them out? Therefore they will be your judges. 20 But if it is by the finger of God that [I] drive out demons, then the kingdom of God has come upon you. 21 When a strong man fully armed guards his palace, his possessions are safe. 22 But when one stronger than he attacks and overcomes him, he takes away the armor on which he relied and distributes the spoils. 23 Whoever is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters.

REFLECTION

Do you believe that Jesus has the power to ‘Heal’? I think most of us would respond with a quick ‘YES’, but do we allow this belief to affect the way we respond to the trials we encounter in our daily lives? We hear in this Scripture how the People are questioning Jesus; His ability as well as His authority to heal. Jesus, knowing their thoughts, warns them, “He who is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters.” (Matthew 12:30).  

Jesus desires that we have a deep trust in Him. We may have our doubts at times and our faith might get shaky in moments of weakness, but Jesus is no less powerful in providing salvation in our lives than He was in the Scriptures. Jesus has a heart of compassion, mercy, understanding, and only calls us to unite our hearts of ‘brokenness’ with His own.  He knows that He is our only way to eternal life. When we choose Him, choose to LOVE HIM and to SERVE HIM; to TRUST HIM in all matters then we have opened the door for Him to HEAL US. He is able heals us of our fears, anxieties, doubts, vices and all that scatters us away from Him. We are being called to an unwavering Trust in Jesus, in His ability to heal our brokenness, and His authority to drive out all things that might be leading us away from Him.  Jesus desires to be our heavenly physician when we are sick or ill physically or spiritually.

MEDITATION

Reflect on how Jesus has placed His Healing hands upon you in your life.

  • Is there someone in your life that is in need of healing? How might you provide some healing for that someone?
  • What does the word ‘Heal’ mean to you?
  • Are you allowing God to use you as an Instrument of His Healing graces?
  • Are you open to God’s Healing touch in your life?
  • Are you seeking the Healing Graces God freely offers you in His sacraments of Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick?
  • Take a moment to ask Jesus to show you how you might help bring His Healing presence to others.
  • Write Down three concerns that you have been struggling with this week.  In prayer, offer up your concerns and entrust Jesus, in His power, to heal you, expressing that He is ALL that matters in your journey to eternal life.  Seek to share the joy of Jesus’ presence in your life by giving someone a coffee today.

CLOSING PRAYER

Lord Jesus, sometimes we cast doubt upon your presence in our lives. Sometimes we are overwhelmed and consumed with the daily tug a war of life that we forget of your power to ‘Heal’. Today, Lord Jesus, I desire to surrender everything over to you: all that I am, all that I am not, and all that I desire to be. Jesus, place your Healing hands upon me and cleanse me of anything that is not of you and fill me with your graces to love and serve you. Jesus I entrust into your care all my anxieties, concerns____1____, ____2____, _____3______ trusting that you will see me through these difficulties and healing me of the grief that they have caused.  Jesus you are all that matters for my eternal life. Help me to place you above all other things in my journey here forth. Thank you for your Love and your Healing touch. Help me to be an instrument of your truth.

AMEN

Leave a comment